From: Sent:

To:

jgundersen@laurelhs.org

Tuesday, March 25, 2008 11:57 AM

IRRC

Subject:

Support For Changes to PA Child Care Regulations

RECEIVED

2008 MAR 25 PM 2: 22

INDEPENDENT REGULATORY REVIEW COMMISSION

IRRC mailbox

Dear IRRC mailbox,

I am active in events in my Tioga County community that promote children's health, safety and well-being and am writing to express my support for the Department of Public Welfare's final child care facility regulations #14-506 (IRRC # 2539).

The regulations have not been updated since 1992. The final regulations before you reflect current best practices and research and serve to protect the health and safety of an estimated 300,000 children in approximately 9,000 child care centers, group child care homes and family child care homes. The regulations update requirements regarding a number of important issues including, care in important areas such as SIDS prevention, playground safety, staff tuberculosis testing, removal of recalled toys, and more.

For the health, safety and well-being of our children who cannot speak for themselves, I ask that you support the regulations so they can take effect.

Sincerely, Jacquelyn Gundersen 146 Deadwood Lane Wellsboro, PA 16901

cc.

Representative Katie True Senator Patricia Vance Representative Phyllis Mundy Representative Curtis Thomas Representative Julie Harhart Representative Frank Oliver Representative Rosita Youngblood Senator Leanna Washington Senator Jay Costa Senator Shirley Kitchen Senator Mary Jo White Senator Jane Orie Representative Steve Samuelson Senator Joseph Scarnati Representative Angel Cruz Representative Beverly Mackereth Representative Jewell Williams Representative David Hickernell Senator Robert Wonderling Representative Mike Gerber Senator Lisa Baker Representative Patrick Harkins Representative Brad Roae Representative Matthew Smith Representative Dan Moul Representative Bryan Cutler

Representative RoseMarie Swanger Representative Susan Helm Representative Ken Smith Representative Frank Shimkus Representative Karen Boback Representative Eddie Pashinski Representative Rick Taylor Representative Thomas Murt Representative Barbara McIlvaine Smith Representative Duane Milne